The festival for fashion & photography –

the fashion design festival for Vienna

29/5–5/6/2012

 
Andreas Oberkanins, Ulrike Tschabitzer-Handler 
(c) Maximilian Pramatarov


 

The festival for fashion and photography differs from other fashion events if nothing else because of its sense for new talent and the platform which is subsequently offered in the field of fashion and photography. This year, it becomes especially obvious: a new generation is entering the limelight and brings a fresh breeze to the Austrian fashion and photography landscape.

 

The young rebels are not the only ones who are stirring it up, the whole city will be set into motion when the 12 festival for fashion and photography invites everyone to the photography focus in and around the 365 – Fox House in the 7th Viennese district. The temporary offspace, various shops and a project space are used by young photographers to provide a refreshingly new view on fashion through exciting exhibitions and projects.

 

One should also be excited for numerous new impulses coming from fashion design: The Fashion Award of the Federal Ministry for Education, the Arts and Culture, which, aimed at young and trend-setting fashion design, is awarded in the context of the AFA-Austria Fashion Awards at the Museum of Ethnology, a house of the Kunsthistorischen Museum Vienna, has never before received more submissions.

 

Already for a second time, the EVOQUE NextGen Award, sponsored by Land Rover Austria , focuses on the youngest generation of local fashion designers and not only offers a chance to showcase one’s own talent in front of a wider audience and to raise public awareness but also serves as a stepping stone for a professional future.

 

The Museum of Applied Arts as a new partner of the festival is the location of the Fashion Talks which are presented by Vöslauer and center on the topic of sustainability.


But already established names and international personalities are an inherent part of the festival: after last year’s spectacular image campaign created by Erwin Wurm and Elfie Semotan, the exciting fusion of art and fashion in public spheres continues with this year’s campaign by Elke Silvia Krystufek , an international artist, and renowned fashion photographer Maria Ziegelböck .

 

 

Ulrike Tschabitzer-Handler & Andreas Oberkanins 

festival for fashion & photography

Das festival for fashion & photography –

das Modedesign-Festival für Wien

29/5–5/6/2012

 
Andreas Oberkanins, Ulrike Tschabitzer-Handler 
(c) Maximilian Pramatarov


 
Das festival for fashion & photography unterscheidet sich von anderen Modeveranstaltungen nicht zuletzt durch sein Gespür für junge Talente und die Plattform, die diesen sowohl im Modebereich als auch auf dem Gebiet der Fotografie geboten wird. Heuer wird dies besonders deutlich: Eine neue Generation rückt ins Rampenlicht und bringt frischen Wind in die österreichische Mode- und Fotografielandschaft.

 

Bewegung herrscht nicht nur bei den jungen Wilden, sondern wird auch in der Stadt aufkommen, wenn das 12 festival for fashion & photography ins und rund um das 365 The Fox House im 7. Wiener Gemeindebezirk zum Fotografie-Schwerpunkt lädt. In dem temporär genutzten Offspace, diversen Shops und einem Project Space eröffnen junge Fotografen in spannenden Ausstellungsprojekten einen erfrischend neuen Blick auf die Mode.

 

Auch im Modedesign darf man auf zahlreiche neue Impulse gespannt sein: Noch nie zuvor gab es für den Modepreis des Bundesministeriums für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur (BMUKK), der für junges, zukunftsweisendes Modedesign im Rahmen der AFA-Austria Fashion Awards im Museum für Völkerkunde , einem Haus des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien , vergeben wird, so viele Einreichungen wie in diesem Jahr.

 

Bereits zum zweiten Mal richtet sich der von Land Rover Austria gestiftete EVOQUE NextGen Award an die jüngste Generation der heimischen Modedesigner und bietet nicht nur die Chance, das eigene Talent erstmals einem breiten Publikum zu präsentieren und ins öffentliche Bewusstsein zu rücken, sondern auch ein Sprungbrett für die berufliche Zukunft.

 

Das Österreichische Museum für angewandte Kunst/Gegenwartskunst als neuer Partner des Festivals ist in diesem Jahr der Veranstaltungsort der von Vöslauer präsentierten Fashion Talks zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit .

 

Aber auch etablierte Namen und internationale Größen haben ihren festen Platz im Festival: Nachdem im letzten Jahr Erwin Wurm und Elfie Semotan die spektakuläre Imagekampagne realisiert haben, konnten heuer Elke Silvia Krystufek , Künstlerin von internationalem Rang, und die renommierte Modefotografin Maria Ziegelböck für eine Fortsetzung der spannenden Begegnung von Kunst und Mode im öffentlichen Raum gewonnen werden.

 

Ulrike Tschabitzer-Handler & Andreas Oberkanins 

festival for fashion & photography